Meet the candidates: Forum for city, HISD, HCC hopefuls in Oak Forest tonight

Share Button

ElectionVoteA strong lineup of 25 municipal, school board and community college trustee candidates are expected tonight when the Central Northwest Super Neighborhood Council hosts a Candidate Forum from 6:30-8:30 p.m. at St. Stephen’s United Methodist Church, 2003 W. 43rd Street.

The list is below.

From 6:30-7:00 p.m. a “Candidate Mingle” offers voters a chance to meet candidates or their representatives face-to-face. The forum gets underway at 7 p.m., featuring official candidates only, not designated representatives.

“This is a fine opportunity to discover more about our 2013 local candidates in a single evening,” explains Mark Klein, president of the CNWSN Council. “It also provides an opportunity to keep our Super Neighborhood issues front-and-center with our future office holders. We encourage residents to come out and get to know their candidates, and let them know our issues are important.”

Alicia Nuzzie, the Government Affairs Representative for the Oak Forest Homeowners Association, organized the CNWSN Candidate Forum.

The CNWSN Council represents a wide variety of constituents, including residents from 16 civic clubs and homeowners associations, plus nearby neighborhoods, businesses and institutions. The council works to identify, plan and set priorities that can address the needs of the community. Council members work directly with officials at the city of Houston on a variety of issues affecting neighborhoods.

The lineup:

Mayor: Ben Hall campaign representative, Don Cook, Victoria Lane, Michael Fitzsimmons, Charyl Drab.

Controller: Ronald Green.

Council at-large: Mike “Griff” Griffin, Position 1; Andrew Burks, Brent Trebor Gordon, Modesto Rivera-Colon, David Robinson, Position 2; Michael Kubosh, J. Brad Batteau, Rogene Gee Calvert, Roland Chavez,  Position 3;  C. O. “Brad” Bradford, Issa Dadoush, Position 4; Carolyn Evans-Shabazz, James Horwitz, Position 5.

District A City Council: Helena Brown, Ron Hale, Mike Knox, Brenda Stardig.

Houston ISD Trustee District I: Anna Eastman, Hugo Mojica.

Houston Community College District 1: Yolanda Navarro Flores, Zeph Capo, Kevin J. Hoffman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *