Primary election-vote logo

Polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Tuesday, May 24, for the runoff to settle undecided party nominations left over from the March 1 primary for some county, state and U.S. congressional races. Early voting was set to take place Monday through Friday of this week.

Voters can view a sample ballot customized to their addresses at Anyone who cast a ballot in the primary will have to vote in that same political party for the runoff.

Those voting Democrat will choose their nominees for lieutenant governor, attorney general, comptroller and commissioner of the Texas General Land Office, along with local judicial nominees, a potential seat on Harris County Commissioners Court and a newly created congressional district. Diana Martinez Alexander and Duncan F. Klussmann are vying for the Democratic nomination in District 38, which will serve a geographic area that includes Memorial Park and locales immediately to the east and south. Wesley Hunt won the Republican nomination.

Lesley Briones and Ben Chou are competing for the opportunity to face Harris County Precinct 4 Commissioner Jack Cagle in November. Cagle was unopposed in the Republican primary.  

The Republican ballot will determine attorney general and land office nominees and whether Alexandra del Moral Mealer or Vidal Martinez will face incumbent Lina Hidalgo for Harris County judge in November. Jack Morman and Jerry Mouton are competing in a runoff for the Republican nomination for Harris County Precinct 2 Commissioner, with the winner to face incumbent Adrian Garcia.

Johnny Teague and Tim Stroud are in a runoff for the right to face U.S. Rep. Lizzie Fletcher, a Democrat who represents District 7, while U.S. Rep. Sylvia Garcia of District 29 awaits the runoff winner between Republicans Robert Schafranek and Julio Garza.

In Texas House District 147, which represents a portion of the Heights area along Interstate 10, Jolanda Jones and Danielle Keys Bess are squaring off for the Democratic nomination for Garnet Coleman’s former seat, which he resigned in April after 31 years. 

Jones recently won the special election to fill the seat until the end of the year, by a margin of 202 votes out of 4,408 cast. Coleman has endorsed Jones, while U.S. Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee is among those backing Bess.

The closest May 24 polling places to local neighborhoods include: 

  • Hogg Middle School, 1100 Merrill St.

  • West End Multiservice Center, 170 Heights Blvd.

  • SPJST Lodge 88, 1435 Beall St.

  • Memorial Elementary School, 6401 Arnot St. 

  • Moody Park Community Center, 3725 Fulton St.

To get stories like this delivered to your email inbox, sign up here for The Leader Daily Newsletter.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.